FIDE Journalists awards for 2017
30 September 2018
FIDE Journalists awards for 2017

The FIDE Commission of Chess Journalists (CCJ) held its meeting on 30th September 2018 in Hotel Sheraton, Batumi, with 19 persons in attendance.

After the report on activities by the Commission Secretary Anastasya Karlovich, the chess public was informed about the voting for the FIDE Journalists awards for the year 2017.

FIDE Journalists award for the best chess news website goes to ChessBase, by unanimous vote of the Subcommittee formed to evaluate the nominations.

FIDE Journalists award for the best national chess federation website goes to Turkish Chess Federation website, with three votes for and one recusal.

The specially designed prizes were produced by the famous Lobortas Classic Jewelry House

According to the idea of the authors and creators, the award was designed on the principle of mirror reflections to be carrying the special significance of the fact that the mass media expressly reflect the world written about. Being an object of the XXI century contemporary artistic jewelry, this prize is associated with the most modern mass media that quickly entered the modern life and became the most widely read information carriers. The multifaceted composition and special "stereo" allusions convey the past, the present and are directed to the future in their forms and images.

Materials: silver, brass, sodalite


FIDE and Lobortas Classic Jewelry House

The Lobortas Сlassic Jewelry House and the World Chess Federation have been linked by a long-standing friendship that began in 2008, when the FIDE requested a restoration of the Nona Gaprindashvili Cup. This cup suffered significant damage during transportation due to the negligence of workers of one well-known foreign airline, and a valuable trophy was virtually destroyed. It took five months of careful work for the Lobortas Classic Jewelery House to restore the trophy. The most important thing was that the Cup was returned to the pristine appearance. Restoration of the Cup by the House of Lobortas was a gift to the FIDE and to the entire chess world.

The presentation of the renovated Nona Gaprindashvili Cup took place at the 80th FIDE Congress in Kallithea (Greece), dedicated to the 85th anniversary of the World Chess Federation of FIDE. In the course of the congressional meetings, the world champion Alexandra Kosteniuk made a proposal to revive the tradition of awarding the Caissa prize to the year's best female chess player. Design and creation of the Caissa Cup, the tournament's main trophy, was entrusted to the Lobortas Classic Jewelry House. A completely new creative approach by artisans and artists led to the creation of a unique precious silver and gemstone prize, the Caissa Cup, which also was a patron contribution of the jewelry house to the development of international chess sport. With the FIDE's support, a new scope of rewards – Big and Small Cups of Caissa – has been created at the initiative of the Lobortas Classic Jewelery House. The double-cup framework of the main sporting trophies has been introduced for the first time in the world practice. The Big Cup, intended to award the tournament winner ceremonially, is in the FIDE's ownership and may be applied for passing from federation to federation. In the moment of victory, the winner triumphantly holds the Big Cup of Caissa, and takes a small precious copy of the Cup forever.

The history's first winner of the Caissa Cup was Nadezhda Kosintseva, the world champion in chess. The world's best female chess player, ranked by FIDE 2009, got her award from the hands of the legendary Nona Gaprindashvili in 2010. To date, the holders of the Caissa Cup are Nadezhda Kosintseva, Judit Polgar, Mariya Muzychuk, and Hou Yifan (four times). During the congressional meeting of the Commission for Women's Chess within the Batumi Olympiad, Anna Muzychuk, the 2016 best female chess player, would receive her award, and Nana Dzagnidze, the newly chosen 2017 best female chess player, would be the owner of her own Caissa in international FIDE competitions agreed by the WOM leadership.

The leadership of the FIDE World Chess Federation has decided to create two categories in the Grand Prix series in women's and men's personal championship at its 84th Congress in October 2013 in Tallinn (Estonia). At the decision of the FIDE Women's Subcommittee, chaired by the world champion and grandmaster Susan Polgar, each of the awards represents two precious prizes – Big and Small cups made of silver, gold, and diamonds in the authorial development of the Lobortas Classic Jewelry House.

On the Grand Prix Cup of FIDE, the names of the winners are to be engraved. The Grand Prix Cup of FIDE representing a reduced copy of the Big Cup is to be handed over to the winner forever. In case of the repeated victory, the year or years of the winning seasons are to be additionally engraved on the Small Cup.

For the first time in the prize series of FIDE Grand Prix, as well as chess award of Caissa, a new artistic and technical solution has been used – there is a seal on the stand of the Small Cup, which can be used by the winner in particularly significant cases. In addition, the winner can replace this seal with her own one or upgrade it to a new one in case of further victories. Such a decision of the main prize – the Cup – can gain popularity among other well-known and significant international awards. Thus, the Cups, created by the House of Lobortas are the objects of the XXI century jewelry art and gain a special historical value due to their owners' victories in the FIDE championships.

The history's first owners of the Grand Prix Cup were Hou Yifan from China and Fabiano Caruana from America.