Visa information

Important Information Regarding Georgian Visa and Border Crossing Procedures


Participants from the countries requiring visa in order to travel to Georgia should submit the request for Electronic Visa through the official visa portal via the following link:


  • Please select “CHESS OLYMPIAD 2018” in the “Purpose of Visit”.
  • After finalizing the application, you will receive the verification e-mail.
  • Please click VERIFY in the e-mail in order to be redirected to the payment page.
  • VISA Application is fulfilled once the payment of amount 20 USD (plus service fee 2%) is accepted.
  • You will receive the payment confirmation to the indicated e-mail.  


Please make sure to upload the documents according to the requirements:

  • PHOTO: Please refer to FAQ page and check PHOTO REQUIREMENTS carefully: Please note, that in case you disregard the photo requirements and submit wrong, low quality photos it may cause the visa refusal.
  • PASSPORT VALIDITY: Please, note that validity of your travel document/passport should extend at least for three months after the validity of requested Georgian visa. E-visa is being issued at least 3-4 months’ validity.
  • PASSPORT COPY: Please make sure to upload full page scan, high quality copy.
  • In case having MINORS in your delegation, you need to submit the information regarding legal guardian travelling with the minor. Be prepared to present a legal representative's certified consent at the state border of Georgia. You will be refused to enter Georgia if you will not be able to present abovementioned document.


No VISA is required to travel to Georgia for the following countries: 

Schengen area countries: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Liechtenstein, Norway, Switzerland

Other countries: Albania, Montenegro, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, Ireland, Romania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Russia, Belarus, Israel, Croatia, Cyprus, San Marino, Serbia, United Kingdom, Ukraine, Argentina, Turkey, Moldova, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Columbia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Honduras, Mexico, Panama, Uruguay, United States of America,  Australia, Bahrain, Brunei, Iran, Jordan, Japan, Kazakhstan, South Korea, Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, Lebanon,  Malaysia, New Zealand, Oman, Qatar, Singapore, Thailand, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, Botswana, Mauritius, South Africa, Seychelles, Mauritania, Aruba.

Please note, that the participants holding valid visa and/or residence permission of the following countries are allowed of visa free travel to Georgia: Schengen countries, United States of America, United Kingdom, United Arab Emirates, Bahrain, New Zealand, Japan, Israel, Qatar, Canada, South Korea, Oman, Saudi Arabia, Kuwait.

IMPORTANTSpecial arrangements will be made for participants from Kosovo and Chinese Taipei. The Organizing Committee will contact you with the detailed information.

IMPORTANT: Furthermore, please note that in case you have travelled to the Territory of the Autonomous Republic of Abkhazia or The Tskhinvali Region (territory of the former South Ossetia Autonomous Region) and have a stamp in your passport, according to the “LAW OF GEORGIA ON OCCUPIED TERRITORIES”: (Article 4, point 2) “Entry of the occupied territories by foreign citizens and stateless persons shall be prohibited… violation of this requirement shall lead to punishment under the Criminal Law of Georgia”

In case of any additional questions regarding the visa procedures and border cross please contact the visa support team of the Organizing Committee via the following e-mail: